Universities In Lucknow

List Of Government Universities in Lucknow

1 – KGMU Lucknow – King George’s Medical University

Image : Shiksha

Address : Shah Mina Rd, Chowk, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh 226003

Phone : 0522-225 8880

Web : www.kgmu.org

King George’s Medical University has been witness to many historical events. Many important changes have taken place since 1905. Around 20,000 doctors, who have come out of the institute so far, have brought laurels to KGMU worldwide.

Started in 1905: In 1817, Maharaja Vijay Nagaran expressed the need to open a medical college in Lucknow. He donated three lakh rupees for this. The Medical College was opened by the Prince of Wales on 26 December 1905. The building was inaugurated on the visit of George V and Queen Mary to India. At that time Sir John Prescott Hewett was the Governor of UP. Initially about 11 lakh rupees were spent.

At present there are 282 post graduate students studying in KGMU. Out of this, 47 are of super specialty. More than 10,000 patients are seen daily in OPD on normal days. Similarly, there are eight departments in the Faculty of Dental Science. Seven departments of paramedical science of the institute are also opening from this year. Now it has 250 MBBS and 100 BDS seats. This medical institute has now become one of the largest medical institutes in Asia with 4500 beds.


  • MBBS
  • BDS, MDS
  • MD/MS
  • PG Diploma Courses
  • Diploma in Psychiatric/Mental Health Nursing
  • Diploma Dental Hygienist,Diploma Dental Machanics
  • Superspeciality Courses(DM/MCh)
  • M.Phil in Translational Health Science
  • B.Sc Nursing
  • List of Paramedical Courses
  • Master in Hospital Administration(MHA)
  • Post MD-PhD program 2020

2 – Lucknow University – University of Lucknow

University Of Lucknow

Address : Babuganj, Hasanganj, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh 226007

Phone : 0522-274 0412

Web : www.lkouniv.ac.in

There are only 9 universities in the country whose history is 100 years old. One of them is Lucknow University.
Canning College was established in Hussainabad on May 1, 1864, and later became the University of Lucknow. Starting as a temporary school at Husainabad Kothi, it progressed through Aminuddaula Park in Aminabad, Parikhana (present Bhatkhande Sangeet Sam Sansthan), Lal Baradari in Aminabad, and finally reached the present campus at Badshahbagh. This Canning College was given the status of a university on November 25, 1920, and education started here in 1921.

After its establishment in the year 1864, for the next two years, there was only a high school education. This school was affiliated with Calcutta University under the supervision of Tomas Saheb, the principal of Agra College. After the formation of Allahabad University in the year 1887, it got affiliated with Allahabad University instead of Calcutta. Degree classes were introduced at Canning College in the year 1866. Initially, there were only eight students at the degree level.


1 – Undergraduate Programs

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Commerce
  • Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Science

2 – Post graduate Programs

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Commerce
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Science

3 – Management Programs

P.G. Management Programme (Under Department of Business Administration)View
P.G. Management Programme (Under Institute of Management Sciences)View
P.G. Management Programme (Under Institute of Tourism Studies)View
U.G. Management Programme (Under Institute of Management Sciences)View
U.G. Management Programme (Under Institute of Tourism Studies)View

4 – Engineering and Technology Programs

  • Computer Science & Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Electronics & Communication Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering

4 – Ph.D. Programs

  • Revised Ph.D. Ordinance 2020
  • Ph.D. Ordinance 2018

3 – BBAU Lucknow – Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University

BBAU Lucknow
Image : bbau.ac.in

Address : Vidya Vihar Raibareli Road, Babasaheb Bhim Rao Ambedkar University, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh 226025

Phone : 1800 180 5789

Web : www.bbau.ac.in

Affiliation : University Grants Commission, Association of Indian Universities, Bar Council of India, Pharmacy Council of India

Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University is a Central University in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh. Formerly known as Rohilkhand University, this public university was established in 1975 and offers undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctoral programs in a wide range of disciplines, including arts, sciences, commerce, and law.


1 – Doctoral

  • Ph.D
  • M.Phil

2 – Post Graduate

1 – Undergraduate Programs

1 – Undergraduate Programs

1 – Undergraduate Programs

1 – Undergraduate Programs


0 Comments Write a comment

Leave a comment